How do I delete a Workplace account or plan as an admin?

What happens when I delete a Workplace account or Workplace plan?
If you delete a user account:
  • This action cannot be undone.
  • They will no longer be able to log into Workplace.
  • You will not see them in the People section of the Admin Panel.
  • Posts, comments, messages, and comments on their posts will be permanently deleted.

If you delete your entire Workplace plan:
  • This action cannot be undone.
  • All accounts, content, posts, comments, messages, and other data inside this Workplace will be permanently deleted.
  • You and all members of this Workplace will immediately lose access.

How can I delete a user account from Workplace?
If you are an admin of your Workplace, you can only delete user accounts which have never claimed, or are currently deactivated. If you do not see an option to delete an account, you need to deactivate it first. If you want to remove access to a user account but don't want to delete their data, you can deactivate the account.
From your computer:
  1. Click on Admin Panel.
  2. Click People.
  3. Find the person you want to delete.
  4. Click .
  5. Click Deactivate Account.
  6. Click Confirm.
Note: If you delete an employee's Workplace account:
  • Your coworkers won't be able to see the account on Workplace.
  • It may take up to 90 days to delete all of the things the person has posted to be deleted.
  • Any content from other users that is dependent on the deleted users' content (example: comments on the deleted users' posts) will also be deleted.
  • While we're deleting this information, it will be inaccessible to other people using Workplace.
  • Some of the things people do on Workplace aren’t stored in their accounts. For example, a coworker may still have messages from a deleted account even after it's been deleted.
  • Users will be forced out of groups and their admin privileges will be lost. Keep in mind that if you choose to reactivate the user account within 14 days of deletion, their admin privileges will be restored.

How can I delete my entire Workplace plan?
From your computer:
  1. Go to the Admin Panel from the left navigation.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Delete Workplace.
  4. Type in your company name and complete the form.
  5. Click Delete this Workplace.
Was this information helpful?